Looking forward to Sacramento! 

unnamed

Last year!

I have been looking forward to this since last fall. I could hardly sleep last night thinking of all the great looking restaurants and bars within blocks of the hotel. My best friend Perry Perkins from My Kitchen Outreach and I always try to hit as many as we can while at IFBC.

I am really hoping to meet up with some friends that I haven’t seen since last fall mind maybe some new ones at a couple of these great looking places. Perry has already set one place in motion. Mayahuel looks amazing and how can you go wrong with great food, tequila and mezcal!

Another place I wood like to hit is the Shady Lady Saloon. It looks to be a 1920’s themed bar with live music. This bar was chosen as “one of the top 25 bars in America for 2014” by Esquire magazine. Thursday they are supposed to have a jazz band called Hot City. Jazz is one of my favorites. If I make it here I will have to get the Charcuterie platter and maybe the Duck Tots.

Another place that I feel I must try is LowBrau. They call themselves “a modern take on the traditional German Bierhalle”. Both my wife and I have some German heritage and I really like German food and beer.

De Vere,s Irish pub made the list as well. Some Bangers and Mash with a Guinness and a shot of Jameson or Bushmills sounds really good. If they served haggis I would get an order of that as well but that is not on the menu.

Every time I look around the hotel on line I find another place. The Rind just popped out at me.  This is a cheese centered bar that want you to experience cheese pared with good wine and beer! How could that be bad?

I really need to stop looking. There is just to little time and so many place. The worst part is no matter the plan things change as you are meandering through a new town especially if you are a little A.D.D. like Perry and I have.

Looking forward to seeing you all in Sacramento!

2 comments

  1. ally · July 28, 2016

    Hi, I’m not sure how long you’ll be in Sac, but if you have the means to get out to Winters, check out Berryessa Brewing. http://berryessabrewingco.com/home/
    Near the hotel–Ella’s has some delicious cocktails and Ruhstaller on K Street does a mean beer. And I noticed you had Shady Lady on your list…good choice! If you’re out and about, I would also stop by Pangaea for some great beer. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MK Library · July 28, 2016

    If you’re a fan of vinyl and music, you may also want to check out B Sides, owned by Shady Lady and a block away. There is usually a DJ spinning records of music you might not have heard before, and the drinks are reasonable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

